No Turning Back

No Turning Back

No Turning Back

When I was just a new convert, not saved for very long
The devil had a talk with me one day
I was dedicating my whole self to serve the Lord
No doubt about it, Jesus was the way.

So, when I tried to go to church, but more than once a week
Seems everybody tried to put me down
I went into my bedroom, closed the door and bowed my knees
What happened next would make the devil frown.

“Why don’t you go back? he said … give up and quit it all?”
“Nobody else is with you in this fight.”
I quickly thought about the life of evil left behind
But in my heart I knew that I was right.

For one brief moment, I considered turning back from God
And saw the emptiness of my old sin
“Jesus,” I said. “I am going with You all the way.”
“If I’m the only one, Lord, count me in.”

The devil had no more to say, for on my knees that night
I settled with my Jesus once for all
There’s nothing for a child of God to ever go back to
Don’t let the devil ever make you fall.

Robert Fultz – July 23, 2016

Leave a comment