Be Wise

Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the LORD, and depart from evil. Proverbs 3:7

Poem

Be Wise

Be not wise in thine own eyes:
Fear God; depart from evil
Fetch your knowledge from afar
From God be your retrieval.

Be not wise in thine own eyes:
Nor in your own conceits
Walk with wise men and be wise
In God’s word find your treats.

Be not wise in thine own eyes:
Hear counsel and receive
Instruction take from God all wise
His word you must believe.

Robert Fultz
February 28, 2020

Don’t ever think you know it all.

Inspiration

We can never afford to be know-it-alls because we will never know everything. The moment we think we know best, we start to distance ourselves from God’s counsel – and that is when errors are bound to happen. Don’t try and take God’s place in your life. Trust in Him and resist all pride – which is a form of evil.

Prayer

Dear God, I pray that I never get to the point in my life where I think that I know it all. I can never know more than you and I know that you know what is best for my life more than I do, Lord.  May I always pay attention to your counsel and no one else’s. In Jesus name, I pray, Amen.

Prayer is Powerful

More Verses:

Romans 12:16 Be of the same mind one toward another. Mind not high things, but condescend to men of low estate. Be not wise in your own conceits.

Proverbs 13:20 He that walketh with wise men shall be wise: but a companion of fools shall be destroyed.

Proverbs 19:20 Hear counsel, and receive instruction, that thou mayest be wise in thy latter end.

Daniel 12:3 And they that be wise shall shine as the brightness of the firmament; and they that turn many to righteousness as the stars for ever and ever.

Job 36:3 I will fetch my knowledge from afar, and will ascribe righteousness to my Maker.

Leave a comment