A Godly Man

A Godly Man

I desire to be a godly man
Repenting of each sin
Confessing every wrong to God
For Jesus lives within.

I’m dead to sin; alive to God
I seek humility
Help me to be a servant
And to live in purity.

May I lead by my example
As I follow yours each day
And love my wife as Jesus loves
His church, dear Lord, I pray.

Fill me daily with your Spirit
Bear your fruit in me
For your Kingdom; help me Lord
A godly man to be.

January 18, 2022
Robert Fultz

The godly man:
• repents when he sins (1 John 1:9)
• considers himself dead to sin but alive to God (Romans 6:1–4, 11)
• seeks to remain humble rather than exalt himself (Proverbs 27:2)
• is a servant rather than demanding that he be served (Mark 10:45)
• leads by example (1 Timothy 4:12)
• (if married) loves his wife as Christ loves the church (Ephesians 5:25)
• lives in sexual purity, honoring God with his body (1 Corinthians 6:18; Romans 12:1–2)
• seeks to be continually filled with the Holy Spirit (Ephesians 5:18; Act 13:52; Galatians 5:25)
• desires to please the Lord more than himself (2 Corinthians 5:9)

Leave a comment