I Am Joseph

matthew-the-man-and-chapter-1-of-the-gospel-46-728

I Am Joseph

Mary is my chosen wife
I know that she was pure
We felt that God had chosen us
How much can I endure?

Now everything has gone so well
I can not understand
It’s been disclosed, my wife’s with child
This is not what we planned.

I love my bride, I can not shame…
I’ll just put her away
A writing of divorcement
And I’ll be on my way…

So here I sit now, praying, thinking…
Lord, what shall I do?
Who could be the father?
Has Mary been untrue?

I’m thinking, thinking…. Help me God
Now drifting off to sleep
I see the angel Gabriel
He’s talking; this is deep.

Joseph, do not be afraid
She’s faithful; make the most
The Child in her that she conceived
Is of the Holy Ghost.

She shall bring forth the Son of God
You will name Him Jesus
He’ll saved his people from their sins
And heal the soul’s diseases.

His name shall be Emmanuel
God with us; sins forgiven
Now I’m awake, and out of bed
I’ll do as God has bidden.

I’ll take my wife and let her know
I know her situation
And by God’s grace we’ll persevere
There’ll be no separation.

Robert Fultz
November 14, 2015

2 thoughts on “I Am Joseph

Leave a comment