My Old Virginia Home

My Old Virginia Home

A little place called Pigeon Creek
Wise County in Virginia
There was coal back in them hills
Not many folks have been there.
 
The mines were open, houses built
And buildings were constructed
A four-room school up on the hill
Where children were instructed.
 
Two hotels, a big, big store
A church, ball field and play ground
With lots of kids and animals
And lots of love to go ‘round.
 
I’m glad I lived there in my youth
I’m glad that I have been there
God blessed us as we all grew up
In Exeter, Virginia.
 
Robert Fultz – March 1, 2018

2 thoughts on “My Old Virginia Home

  1. I love this poem! Most of the poems,articles or documentaries are always putting the area in an unattractive light.I am thankful someone who actually knows this community writes the truth.Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Barbara! I miss my home and people there, but I have wonderful memories from the 19 years that I lived there. God’s blessings to you!

      Like

Leave a comment