I’d Like to Be Like

I'd Like to be Like

The godly man:
• repents when he sins (1 John 1:9)
• considers himself dead to sin but alive to God (Romans 6:1–4, 11)
• seeks to remain humble rather than exalt himself (Proverbs 27:2)
• is a servant rather than demanding that he be served (Mark 10:45)
• leads by example (1 Timothy 4:12)
• (if married) loves his wife as Christ loves the church (Ephesians 5:25)
• lives in sexual purity, honoring God with his body (1 Corinthians 6:18; Romans 12:1–2)
• seeks to be continually filled with the Holy Spirit (Ephesians 5:18; Act 13:52; Galatians 5:25)
• desires to please the Lord more than himself (2 Corinthians 5:9)
• bears fruit for the kingdom of God (John 15:5–8)

I’d Like to Be Like

When I think of Bible men, I’d like to imitate
I think of Adam, who was pure, when God gave him a mate.
I’d like to be like Able, when by faith he sacrificed
I’d like to be like Enoch, when God took him; grace sufficed.
 
I’d like to be like Abraham: believe in spite of doubt
Or even be like Isaac, who kept cleaning his wells out.
I’d like to be like Jacob, when he wrestled with the LORD
I’d like to be like Moses when he stood upon God’s Word.
 
I’d like to be like Peter and I’d like to be like Paul
But I can tell you this my friend: King Jesus tops them all.
I’d rather be like Jesus than like any other man
Let’s have a happy fathers’ day! With Jesus’ help, we can.
 
Robert Fultz – June 17, 2017

Leave a comment